Opinion »

Student shares advice for staying productive, maintaining high spirits, fending off boredom during winter months

Student shares advice for staying productive, maintaining high spirits, fending off boredom during winter months

Grace Marchione February 4, 2016 0

If there’s anything we all learned from Snowmageddon, it’s that weather can really throw a wrench into things when we least expect it. Like me, you may enjoy an occasional winter wonderland, but we

Read More »
Students react to new security cameras in Jay’s Nest, express support for increased safety measures

Students react to new security cameras in Jay’s Nest, express support for increased safety measures

The Etownian February 4, 2016 0

When entering the Elizabethtown College campus, students immediately feel the safety that the college provides for them. Students who come to Etown admire how seriously the campus takes its security. The College takes a

Read More »
Foo Fighters’ ‘Saint Cecilia’ surprises fans with new spin on old rock sound, combines history with introspective lyrics

Foo Fighters’ ‘Saint Cecilia’ surprises fans with new spin on old rock sound, combines history with introspective lyrics

The Etownian February 4, 2016 0

The great Saint Cecilia walked the streets of Rome in the 2nd century AD.  Her spiritual actions at her own wedding, singing to God in her heart, crowned her the saint of the musicians.

Read More »
Pass, no pass grading option allows less stressful course load, may affect rise, decline of students’ GPAs

Pass, no pass grading option allows less stressful course load, may affect rise, decline of students’ GPAs

Abigail Piskel February 4, 2016 0

We are a month into schooling which means for the most part we should have our schedules pretty much figured out. However, there are some options that we still may consider. For those of

Read More »
Etownian movie review columnist shares thoughts on ten best 2015 films

Etownian movie review columnist shares thoughts on ten best 2015 films

Connor Burke January 28, 2016 0

10 Mini-Reviews for the Price of One! Nowadays, Top 10 Lists are a dime a dozen and range from the opinions of top critics to average Joes on YouTube who found their mom’s camera

Read More »
Smoking, non-smoking students react to new smoke-free zones and express need for compromise on smoking areas

Smoking, non-smoking students react to new smoke-free zones and express need for compromise on smoking areas

Kayleigh Kuykendall January 28, 2016 0

In the past, Elizabethtown College has had a rather relaxed smoking policy: no smoking inside any of the college buildings.  However, recent revisions to the student handbook say that smoking is no longer allowed

Read More »
Dieting plans difficult to maintain past beginning of new year, create challenges for college students making healthier choices

Dieting plans difficult to maintain past beginning of new year, create challenges for college students making healthier choices

Grace Marchione January 28, 2016 0

“New year, new me” has become an immensely popular phrase describing many people’s outlook as we reset our calendars and make resolutions for the next chapter of our lives. It has also taken on

Read More »
Starting a business in college a worthwhile pursuit

Starting a business in college a worthwhile pursuit

Grace Marchione September 25, 2015 0

Last year in Dr. Downing’s Business and PR Writing class, we took a quiz that told us whether or not we were entrepreneurially-minded. Having started an Etsy shop the previous summer, I was slightly

Read More »
Letter to the Editor responds to Editorial Board’s criticism of group projects, author reflects on own practices

Letter to the Editor responds to Editorial Board’s criticism of group projects, author reflects on own practices

Sanjay Paul September 25, 2015 0

Homer was so shaken by an editorial in a recent issue of the Etownian that he tottered immediately to the Blue Bean in search of sustenance. There, fortunately, lay a single scone without icing,

Read More »
Johnny Depp takes viewers to church with “Black Mass”

Johnny Depp takes viewers to church with “Black Mass”

Connor Burke September 25, 2015 0

On the streets of Boston’s South Side in 1975, everyone knew the name Whitey Bulger. He and his Winter Hill Gang ran their neighborhood and he constantly tried to keep the mafia from North

Read More »